Large database import

Questions and Answers about the POS Pizza 6 and newer Database
EricCripe
Member
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: Large database import

Post by EricCripe »

Yeah, it looks like excel was screwing them up. Formated them as plain text but still no luck. Here is a screenshot of the database.
Image
EricCripe
Member
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: Large database import

Post by EricCripe »

Doesn't look like the image posted. here is a link to the image. https://photos.google.com/search/_tra_/ ... fZDmSwMMPQ
User avatar
Scott
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2563
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 5:35 pm
Location: Western PA

Re: Large database import

Post by Scott »

I can't view the image without a google one account.

Anyway, execute the following SQL command after doing your import. It will set all of the fields to what they should be in the database.

UPDATE items_tbl SET disabled=0, show_start='00:00:00', show_end='23:59:59', hidden_days=0, expiration='2000-01-01 01:01:01';

That will override all of the fields in question to default values on the entire table. After executing that command, your items should show up everywhere.


Scott
EricCripe
Member
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: Large database import

Post by EricCripe »

I have the formatting correct. Here is a link that is public:

http://www.imageno.com/2k8e2tfljjz9pic.html
EricCripe
Member
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: Large database import

Post by EricCripe »

I ran the script and it worked! Thanks so much for all your help!
User avatar
Scott
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2563
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 5:35 pm
Location: Western PA

Re: Large database import

Post by Scott »

EricCripe wrote:I ran the script and it worked! Thanks so much for all your help!
Good to hear it! It contained all of the fields that are checked when loading items into the POS, thus eliminating any doubt.


Scott
EricCripe
Member
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: Large database import

Post by EricCripe »

So after scouring the documentation and the forum I haven't been able to figure out the error I am getting now. When I try to add one of the imported items to an order I get this error: "Item: {**invalid item**} Needs to be on order before adding this item!" What am I doing wrong?
User avatar
Scott
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2563
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 5:35 pm
Location: Western PA

Re: Large database import

Post by Scott »

It would appear that the required_items column contains some (invalid) data.

I would clear that filed on all items, and add them via the POS if you have any items that require other items.

UPDATE items_tbl SET required_items='';

(That's 2 single quote marks ' after the =)


Scott
EricCripe
Member
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: Large database import

Post by EricCripe »

Thanks again for all your help Scott. It is now treating the items like they need a topping. I am getting a new error. "Topping Requirements Not Met. Please choose add one of the following toppings"
EricCripe
Member
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: Large database import

Post by EricCripe »

Used a little logic and altered the query to UPDATE items_tbl SET required_tops='';
SUCCESS! Thanks again for all your help
Post Reply