HD cache

Information and help with the Hard Disk Scrubber
Post Reply
Todd1956
New Member
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 11:41 am

HD cache

Post by Todd1956 »

Hi
Do I need to turn off the HD cache before running HD scrubber. This was required for the old evidence eliminator programme. I'm running a Win 8 machine.
Thanks
Todd
User avatar
Scott
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2563
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 5:35 pm
Location: Western PA

Re: HD cache

Post by Scott »

You shouldn't have to since the scrubber issues a "FLUSH" command after every sector is written or in the case of file shredding, every 32K.

Scott
Todd1956
New Member
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 11:41 am

Re: HD cache

Post by Todd1956 »

Ok but disabling cache couldn't hurt?
User avatar
Scott
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2563
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 5:35 pm
Location: Western PA

Re: HD cache

Post by Scott »

It shouldn't matter either way.

Scott
Post Reply