HD cache

Information and help with the Hard Disk Scrubber
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 10:41 am

HD cache

Postby Todd1956 » Fri Sep 20, 2013 10:49 am

Hi
Do I need to turn off the HD cache before running HD scrubber. This was required for the old evidence eliminator programme. I'm running a Win 8 machine.
Thanks
Todd

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 2090
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 4:35 pm
Location: Western PA

Re: HD cache

Postby Scott » Fri Sep 20, 2013 1:14 pm

You shouldn't have to since the scrubber issues a "FLUSH" command after every sector is written or in the case of file shredding, every 32K.

Scott

New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 10:41 am

Re: HD cache

Postby Todd1956 » Fri Sep 20, 2013 6:31 pm

Ok but disabling cache couldn't hurt?

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 2090
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 4:35 pm
Location: Western PA

Re: HD cache

Postby Scott » Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:13 am

It shouldn't matter either way.

Scott

Return to Hard Disk Scrubber

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest