URGENT - Future Orders

Help with the POS Pizza databases, Items + Toppings, Employees, Customers, etc
Active Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 8:47 am
Location: Brockton, MA

URGENT - Future Orders

Postby Salonico » Mon Sep 18, 2006 3:59 pm

When I schedule a future order, it will accept it, but it will dissapear from the system and will never print it. Going to Database Maintenance, tells me that there is no problem but the tickets appear in there. Now, when I ran the utility last time, something went wrong. When I open the POS program now, it tells me ERROR: Opening Future Order File, Cannot Continue!. What should I do?

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 2148
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 4:35 pm
Location: Western PA

Postby Scott » Mon Sep 18, 2006 4:32 pm

1. ) Make sure that your NODE 1 station has a printer configured for order taking because that is the node that processes the future orders. (Do normal orders print from node 1?)

2. ) Node 1 MUST be running in order for the future order to be processed when it's time/date come up. Otherwise it will process as soon as that node is started.

To correct the problem (File Damaged), go to MY COMPUTER and open the POSPizza\DATA folder and delete the file called PizzFOrd.PZ5. Re-run the main POS and it will re-create this file.

You should NEVER run database maintenance on a file unless it fails the Integrity Check!!

Future Orders should be able to be edited and seen after you enter them and will have order numbers greater than 1000000. If they have a normal order number then, either the future order processing option is not configured or the date was incorrectly set on the future order.

Scott

Active Member
Posts: 108
Joined: Sun May 11, 2003 11:24 pm
Location: Nagasaki, Japan

Postby chrispizza » Fri Sep 22, 2006 2:52 am

Scott wrote:
You should NEVER run database maintenance on a file unless it fails the Integrity Check!!

Scott


What exactly does this mean? I shouldnt be re-building my database ever?

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 2148
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 4:35 pm
Location: Western PA

Postby Scott » Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:40 am

chrispizza wrote:What exactly does this mean? I shouldnt be re-building my database ever?


No, you should only do a rebuild or recover if you get an error on the "Check Integrity". Otherwise there really is no point.

Scott


P.S. Also if you need to rebuild a database it should only be done from the machine that is the server (or has the copy locally installed on it). Doing a rebuild across the network is an unnessisary risk.

Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 6:14 pm

Data base Rebuild

Postby Stageline » Sun Oct 22, 2006 10:47 pm

So what happens if you do a rebuild without first failing the integrity check? I ask, because I'm pretty sure I did that tonight.

-Rick

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 2148
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 4:35 pm
Location: Western PA

Postby Scott » Mon Oct 23, 2006 11:42 am

Usually nothing, but it is best not to rebuild a file that does not need it. The only time you would want to rebuild a file without failing integrity is if you purge a bunch of customers, you should rebuild the phone number file.

If you see error 7's, 9's, or 22's on a customer file, then use the "Recover" button instead of the rebuild button.

Scott

Return to v5 Database Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest