Brother Label Printer

General Seup or Installation Help
Active Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 8:47 am
Location: Brockton, MA

Brother Label Printer

Postby Salonico » Thu Dec 03, 2009 1:11 am

Here's my problem. I have two Epson printers: printer 1 on console #1 is for receipts, printer 2 on console #2 is kitchen printer. I bought a Brother QL 570 for labels which I configured on console #3 as Dymo. Using OrdCon32, I cannot see anything in it. If I click F5 it tells me printing is disabled, I need to use Management to enable it. Using OCPOM I receive the message "Order console #1 already running". If I use it with number 3 at the end, I receive the message "Error opening DLS. This application will shutdown". What am I doing wrong?

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 2182
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 4:35 pm
Location: Western PA

Re: Brother Label Printer

Postby Scott » Fri Dec 04, 2009 8:58 am

We do not support Brother label printers. DLS is Dymo's Label Software that ships with their printers. Our software communicates directly with theirs and prints via this software link. It is therefore not possible for some other printer to work in Dymo mode.

If your printer supports "standard" windows print mode, it may be able to work, but using one of the recommended is best.

Scott

Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 5:39 pm

Re: Brother Label Printer

Postby _pizzadude_ » Wed Mar 05, 2014 5:09 pm

Bump. Any chance the Brother label maker could work with V6 of the POS? Or is there a way to use P-Touch, Brother's software instead of Dymo's?

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 2182
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 4:35 pm
Location: Western PA

Re: Brother Label Printer

Postby Scott » Thu Mar 06, 2014 8:46 am

We don't directly support other label print formats, but they may be able to work in line printer mode if the specific printer supports that. I know that some people have successfully used a zebra printer in that manner.

I don't know any specifics about the p-touch so I am not sure what is supported coming from a computer, whether it is proprietary, open, or a combination of the two.

Scott

Return to v5 Installation Help and FAQs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests