POS app locks up...

General Seup or Installation Help
Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 9:18 am

POS app locks up...

Postby GeoDaddy » Tue Sep 04, 2007 8:58 am

Installing the POS software on one server and executing it on one client, I find that the system - occasionally - locks up the machines i.e. you can;t even execute a three-finger-salute to get out of the application and have to reboot the machine.

This - may - be because I have been interactively going back and forth between the Management Utility and POS Order Module - defining Menu Items/Toppins and trying to get them come out correctly on the Order screen... so that may be the culprit.

But I - hope - that rebooting the system won't be an issue during a typical work day, once the Menu is stabalized???

g

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 2182
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 4:35 pm
Location: Western PA

Postby Scott » Tue Sep 04, 2007 12:19 pm

This is not a problem that we have seen anywhere else. There must be some other problem with your computers, serial ports network or something because this is not something that we have seen happening in the past. Many of our customers have run the POS for months on end without a single reboot. We usually recommend rebooting Windows at least every 2 days due to the memory leaks that are inherent with the OS. But you should definitely take a look at the machines, since this is not a normal issue.


Scott

Support Team
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 5:51 pm

Postby Mike » Tue Oct 16, 2007 11:03 pm

If you are running Windows XP with different service packs, this sometimes happens with networked clients. Make sure that all XP machines are running SP2.

-Mike

Veteran Member
User avatar
Posts: 154
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 4:41 pm
Location: Illinois

Re: POS app locks up...

Postby joshwho » Wed Jan 23, 2008 2:51 am

GeoDaddy wrote:Installing the POS software on one server and executing it on one client, I find that the system - occasionally - locks up the machines i.e. you can;t even execute a three-finger-salute to get out of the application and have to reboot the machine.

This - may - be because I have been interactively going back and forth between the Management Utility and POS Order Module - defining Menu Items/Toppins and trying to get them come out correctly on the Order screen... so that may be the culprit.

But I - hope - that rebooting the system won't be an issue during a typical work day, once the Menu is stabalized???

g


I use to have the same problem. every time there was 2 orders being took or some one was in the management mod. it would lock up the whole system. We was using the buffalo link station server for pos pizza and it kept locking up. Our solution was to use a real server. We are running the main pos pizza and all features like x-charge caller id, kprint, ordc32, and label printing all off the Server and we never had a problem since. The os for the server is Windows Server 2000. It works like a charm.

Im not saying this is a solution for all problems but it is a good solution for networking the pos system.

P.S. Most of our nodes are using XP sp1 only 2 machines use XP sp2.

Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 1:17 pm
Location: Roseville, MI

PC locking

Postby biondes » Sun Apr 06, 2008 9:06 pm

where O/S are you running.

I am running Vista (Home version) and I have this same issue at least once a week. I have yet to find the problem.
Ben

Veteran Member
User avatar
Posts: 154
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 4:41 pm
Location: Illinois

Postby joshwho » Tue Apr 08, 2008 7:21 pm

I am using Windows Xp Pro SP2. The Server is running Windows Advanced Server 2000 It works great but i think there is still a bug some where with the order taking console. It seems when your in the middle of taking a order and it takes longer than a minute before you cash the order it will Say Error writing to Disk.

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 2182
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 4:35 pm
Location: Western PA

Postby Scott » Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:04 am

joshwho wrote:I am using Windows Xp Pro SP2. The Server is running Windows Advanced Server 2000 It works great but i think there is still a bug some where with the order taking console. It seems when your in the middle of taking a order and it takes longer than a minute before you cash the order it will Say Error writing to Disk.


If that were true, we would have found such a bug a long time ago, since I'm sure that many people enter part of an order then get sidetracked and then continue longer than a minute later. I just added some items to an order and waited 5 minutes here, no problems at all.

As I told you in your other posting, you more than likely have a record corruption in one of your files. Otherwise the message may not even be from POS Pizza, since POS Pizza always returns an error number when it has a problem writing to a data file.

Scott

Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2003 1:42 pm
Location: Chicago, Illinois

Postby edembek » Wed Apr 09, 2008 6:18 pm

Do you guys shut your computers down each night or just let them run continually? Windows needs a reboot at least every few days. One of our stores was just letting it run, and was beginning to have odd problems, but now they reboot daily, and the problems seemed to have gone.
Ed Dembek

Veteran Member
User avatar
Posts: 154
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 4:41 pm
Location: Illinois

Postby joshwho » Sun Apr 13, 2008 3:18 pm

edembek wrote:Do you guys shut your computers down each night or just let them run continually? Windows needs a reboot at least every few days. One of our stores was just letting it run, and was beginning to have odd problems, but now they reboot daily, and the problems seemed to have gone.


I reboot then every night that way they have a fresh start every day

Veteran Member
Posts: 178
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2003 11:50 am
Location: New Jersey

Postby H-Man » Sun Apr 27, 2008 8:27 am

joshwho wrote:I am using Windows Xp Pro SP2. The Server is running Windows Advanced Server 2000 It works great but i think there is still a bug some where with the order taking console. It seems when your in the middle of taking a order and it takes longer than a minute before you cash the order it will Say Error writing to Disk.


Did you get this problem resolved yet? Did you figure out what was happening?

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 2182
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 4:35 pm
Location: Western PA

Postby Scott » Mon Apr 28, 2008 6:58 am

H-Man wrote:Did you get this problem resolved yet? Did you figure out what was happening?


Yes this issue is resolved as noted here on the message boards.

-Scott

Return to v5 Installation Help and FAQs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests