ORDER CONSOLES

General Seup or Installation Help
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 8:20 pm

ORDER CONSOLES

Postby davincis » Wed Aug 22, 2007 8:34 pm

Can someone help me with a setup problem?

Current Configuration ...

5 computers on a TCP/IP network. 2 Node license.

Computer #1 runs POS (from #2 which is the primary). NODE 2
Computer #2 runs POS. NODE 1
Computer #3 runs drivers console.
Computer #4 is the make-line.
Computer #5 is the make-line.

Cannot get the make-line console to display the information once the order on Node 1 or Node 2 have processed it.

What programmes do I need running on each of the above computers to get computer #1 & #2 to bump the order info to #3 for making, then bump to #4 by the oven?

Have set up the consoles under Order Console Config for #3 and #4 to no printing and on completion to bounce to the next console.

Read the instructions on the PDF manual, but don't understand the difference between the OCSRVR and ORDCON32.

Do I need to run something on the main POS computer (other than POS)?

What do I need to run on each of the make-line computers so the Order Console (that DOS looking thingy) is displayed.

Any ideas?
If you need any more info, please ask.

Thanks ... Andrew !!

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 2183
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 4:35 pm
Location: Western PA

Postby Scott » Thu Aug 23, 2007 7:57 am

Hi Andrew,

The order-entry stations need to only run POSPizza.exe, the Driver Console station runs DrvrCons.exe.

PC-Based Kitchen make-line stations run OrdCon32.exe (This is what you should be running).

Terminal Based make-line stations are attached to one of the other PCs serial ports and then that PC will run OCSRVR.exe (Only for dumb terminal setups).

You shouldn't need to configure any "Bouncing" in your situation. It sounds like the menu items (Master Items) are not set to print to a console number.

Do you want your two make-line screens to show the same data? Or is one for Pizzas and the other for sandwiches or something similar?

If you want them both to show the same data do the following:

1. Go into your Master Items and configure each item that you want to show up on the make-lines to Print to Order Console 1

2. Start your make-line stations OrdCon32.exe and place an order into the system using one of the items that you just edited.

It should show up on both make-lines at the same time...



If you want them both to show different data do the following:

1. Go into your Master Items and configure each item that you want to show up on the first make-line Print to Order Console 1

2. Configure items that are to show up on the second make-line Print to Order Console 2

3. Start your the first make-line station OrdCon32.exe

4. Start the second make-line station using a command line argument of 2, see page 41 in the docs. You can edit the shortcut in Windows by right-clicking the shortcut and going to the target and adding a space followed by a 2 and then saving it.

5. Add some items for each screen to an order and submit it.

The items scheduled for each make-line should show up on their respective screens...



...

It sounded to me based on your description that you have done everything except configure your food items. Make sure you remove the bounce to console x settings that you setup as well.

Scott

New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 8:20 pm

Postby davincis » Thu Aug 23, 2007 3:41 pm

Thanks for your help.

We have set up the master items to go to a Console 1.

We want the make-line console to display the orders for the person making the pizzas.

Then when they put it in the oven we want it to bounce to the console on the other side for the person taking it out of the oven and packing it.

Thanks ... Andrew !!

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 2183
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 4:35 pm
Location: Western PA

Postby Scott » Thu Aug 23, 2007 4:39 pm

davincis wrote:We want the make-line console to display the orders for the person making the pizzas.

Then when they put it in the oven we want it to bounce to the console on the other side for the person taking it out of the oven and packing it.



Ok, then set up like situation #1 above, and then set console one to bounce to console 2 on completion. When the cook marks an order complete it will go to the 2nd screen. They can do this as soon as they put them in the oven.


You will still need to edit the OrdCon32.exe shortcut on console #2 so that it runs as console 2 instead of 1. The console number is shown at the top of the screen inside of the square brackets.


Scott

Return to v5 Installation Help and FAQs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest