Forced to change server IP Adress

Questions and Answers about the POS Pizza 6 & 7 Databases
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 6:23 pm

Forced to change server IP Adress

Postby EricCripe » Sat Feb 20, 2016 3:48 pm

Hi Scott,

I had to change my server's IP Address and can't remember or find it in the documentation how to re-point POS Pizza to the database file. Trying to open the management utility program gives me the can't connect to the database error. Thanks for your help.

Eric

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 2090
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 4:35 pm
Location: Western PA

Re: Forced to change server IP Adress

Postby Scott » Mon Feb 22, 2016 5:28 am

By default the POS clients are set to auto-detect, so they will normally find the server no matter what its IP is, provided that it is part of the same subnet.

If you had previously assigned the server IP on the clients manually, then you will need to go back into the local config's Database Settings tab (management util), and configure the new server, or set it back to auto.

You can get there by running the management utility from the command line with the /local command switch. Open the command prompt and enter the following (pressing enter at the end of each line);

CD\POSPizza6\CS
MANAGER /LOCAL

This will open the local config, allowing you to change the server IP settings.


Scott

Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: Forced to change server IP Adress

Postby EricCripe » Tue Feb 23, 2016 2:19 pm

Thanks Scott. I knew I had to do it through the command line i just couldn't remember the switch.

Return to Database Help and Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest