Linking DataBase to 3 Computers?

Questions and Answers about the POS Pizza 6 & 7 Databases
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 7:38 am

Linking DataBase to 3 Computers?

Postby KingKoopa » Wed Nov 07, 2012 7:47 am

Ok obviously this can be done with this software. BTW Great software only been testing for about an hour but seems really good.

Ok my question is, say i install this on 3 computers whats the easiest way to make them talk all together. Note the PCs are not on a domain just single PCs with Mapped Drive sharing amongst them. Can 3 4 users login at one time if they are linked?

Cheers for any help

Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 2090
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 4:35 pm
Location: Western PA

Re: Linking DataBase to 3 Computers?

Postby Scott » Wed Nov 07, 2012 8:08 am

The [SA] and [LT] versions only run on a single computer. The [CS] version shares the database through the server portion. The server gets installed on a single PC and it houses the database. The clients get installed on all of the PCs and talk to the server over TCP/IP and can access the data directly through the network. No shared drives are required in this setup.

You can login users at each station all at the same time using the [CS] version.

Scott

New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 7:38 am

Re: Linking DataBase to 3 Computers?

Postby KingKoopa » Wed Nov 07, 2012 9:16 am

Thanks very much for that information just what i needed. Once i spend a week or two working everything out on the Light version we will purchase the full version.

Thanks again

Return to Database Help and Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest